Development Scholarship and Commonwealth Scholarships New Zealand-2108/2019

Programme outlines

The New Zealand Aid Programme offers scholarships to potential applicants from eligible African countries (including South Africa) who are motivated to make a difference at home.

Scholarships available

The following scholarship types are available. Follow the links below for more information about the particular scholarship type.

  1. New Zealand Development Scholarship

Eligible countries: Algeria, Angola, Botswana, Cameroon, Djibouti, Egypt, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

  1. New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarship

Eligible Countries: Botswana, Cameroon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia.

Degree level

Master’s and PhD


Applications open in early 2018 for studies beginning in early 2019. Read application dates for more information. It is recommended that potential applicants start preparing early due to the long application process.

Who can apply?

Candidates must meet all eligibility criteria. Note: there are differing criteria for different scholarships.

Read the full eligibility criteria

Fields of Study

“We want scholars who are interested in studying subjects that can improve the social and economic development of your country. We’ve chosen priority sectors that can help your country and that New Zealand has expertise in.”

Priority Sectors

If you can show that your study is connected to any of these sectors, you are more likely to be selected.

Agriculture development

  • Agri-business management: agricultural economics, agricultural systems and management, rural development, logistics, supply chain and distribution management, value chain development, agriculture marketing, international agribusiness;
  • Agriculture production: animal science, veterinary nursing, plant science, horticultural science, soil science;
  • Agriculture trade and technology: Phytosanitary, bio-security, biotechnology, agricultural trade;
  • Post-harvest: food production, food sciences/technology, post-harvest processing, food storage and packaging, food safety.

Renewable energy

  • Geothermal, solar, hydro-electric and wind energy, energy engineering, renewable energy distribution systems, energy sector management/reform, including energy economics and financials.

Read the What You Can Study page to see examples of qualifications for these subjects

Application process

Selection Preferences The New Zealand Aid Programme is guided by both the Priority Sectors (above) and Selection Preferences when shortlisting candidates.




Share This: